Sign Up
Today's Nurse helps you connect and share with the people in your life.

Lives in Indianapolis, Indiana United States ·
Basic Info
Rating:
0 Ratings
Relationship status:
Single
Gender:
Last Login:
May 1, 2020
Member Since:
August 28, 2018
RSS Subscribers:
45
Nursing Title
RN
Job Title
RN
Current Nursing Specialization
LTAC/Rehab
Work Name (Hospital, Practice, Clinic, etc...)
Kindred Hospital
Years in Nursing
11
Work Description / Areas of Expertise / Job Duties
Busy and loving it.
Brief summary of your nursing background
Started as a CMA, went back to school became a LVN, went back to school became an RN, and now working on my BSN. All done as a single parent/grandparent. I have worked in many settings as a nurse. Job Corp, military base hospital, Prison system, SNF, LTAC, multiple hospital setting, Home Health, Rehab hospitals, and Independent Nurse(private).
What made you choose a career in nursing?
I have always loved to help people (family and friends) when they were ill. It gave me pleasure to watch them heal. It still makes a spot in my heart warm when I help others journey through their healing process.
What Do You Attribute Your Success To?
The strength my mother Ella/Lolly instilled in me and my love for being obedient to my God. Love thy neighbor.
What motivates you at the start of each day?
Waking up and knowing that I am awake. Another day of blessings and being a blessing to others.
How do you make a difference in the lives of your patients?
Love on them while helping them get through their fears of being the health situation that they are currently in. Encouraging my patients to keep moving forward and never cease in the battle of healing. I also love to smile now matter what. The saying is true, no one is promised tomorrow, live love and laugh today.
Research Interests
I have been researching how to become a forensic nurse. That is my true love in the nursing field.
High School Name
Walton
High School Degree
Diploma
High School Grad Date
1994
Nursing School Name
Galen College of Nursing
Nursing Degree In
ADN
Grad Date - Nursing Degree
07/2016
University - Associate's
Bronx Community College
Associate's Degree In
AAS Paralegal
Grad Date - Associate's Degree
1994
Certificates
ACLS (Advanced Cardiac Life Support)
Personal Website
forevershalom1@gmail.com
Languages
ENG
Favorite place to vacation
Barbados
Hobbies / Sports
crochet, bible study, movies, singing, dancing, rollerskating
Place of birth
Fort Washington, NY/ upper Manhattan
More About Me
I am a grandma of 5, I have 3 awesome children who love me to life. I am living just taking care of me for the first time in over 35 years. It feels weird but extremely great. I am thankful for life.